CIM Training – week 7

Well.  My week started off terribly.  I was lazy and I didn’t run my first run.  It was a long run, but only of 8 miles, so not really a long run.  I felt terrible about it.  I wrote a post about it here, and tried to tell myself it’s ok for missing a run or two.

Then, I went on to rock my speed work.  Then my tempo.  Both I was dreading to do.  I was especially scared for the tempo.  They just freak me out.  I just need to keep convincing myself to get out the door, and just run a little harder than an easy pace – get in the miles.  That’s it.  That’s what I did.

So, except for the first run of the week, this was a great week of running!  (And four days of surfing!!)

Monday, September 11th

Scheduled: 8 miles at long pace
What I did: Nope.  Didn’t happen. Zero miles.
I did go for a surf though!

Tuesday, September 12th

Scheduled: 4 miles at easy pace
What I did: 4 miles @ 10:31min/mile
Plus a surf!

Wednesday, September 13th

Scheduled: Ladder work out
What I did: Ladder workout!  1 mile warm up, 400m, 800m, 1200m, 1600m, 1200m, 800m, 400m, 1 mile cool down.  (400m recovery between interval).
You can read a post on it here.  It was a great run!  Still can’t believe I actually hit my paces.


And of course, a sneaky surf – and what a great surf it was!!

Thursday, September 14th

Scheduled: Rest day.
What I did: Rested!  Of course!
Well, except for the surf I did.

Friday, September 15th

Scheduled: 7 miles at tempo pace
What I did: 4 miles @ 10:05min/mile (easy pace)
I switched my runs around.  Because life.  And I’m lazy.  And I really didn’t want to do my tempo run.

Saturday, September 16th

Scheduled: 4 miles @ easy pace
What I did: 7 miles @  8:52min/mile. (Not including 1 mile warm up and cool down).
So, I made myself get out to run this.  I get so nervous before SOS (Something of Substance) runs.  I decided to get out there and try.  1 mile warm up, then just try for a 9:30min/mile pace – as it was quite warm.  When I was running my warm up I realised I was a bit faster than normal.  Then my first mile was under a 9minute mile.  What?!  Slow down.  My next mile was faster.  My third mile was stupid.  Way too fast. Luckily I turned around and ended up running back into the wind – that slowed me down!  The last mile was tough, but I did try to push myself to finish under a 9 minute mile pace.  I’m excited about this run, but I really want to try and slow it down a little, however this did feel extremely comfortable for the most part (except mile 7).  (And that 0.02? yea, I accidentally lapped my watch….)

Sunday, September 17th

Scheduled: 6 miles @ easy pace
What I did: 6 miles @ 10:10min/mile. 

 

This Week’s Total Mileage: 31

Training Total Mileage: 206.35

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

