Treadmill Workouts to Get Faster

I have a month until I officially start training for the California International Marathon.img_1966

I’m struggling to fit in time to run.  My work is crazy, and I have some days that I am working from before 6:00am to well past 10pm, with no breaks in-between.  Other days, I may have half the day ‘off’ (but still on call).  It’s difficult to manage.  I think I’m going to attempt to run 3 – 4 days a week, and do my run in a short amount of time.  The #streakingwiththecoolkids has been amazing – I’ve managed to fit in a run each day, but for my job sleep is crucial, so I’m quite excited to stop the streak at the end of the month.

While I’m away working I’ll be able to make use of hotel treadmills, so I found some great training ideas for quick 15-20 minute treadmill runs.

For example:

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 4.11.18 PM

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 4.13.20 PM

I found these here, and just made them pretty so I could print them out and take them to the hotel gym with me.  I’ll also be trying to find some other ideas to work with.  If you have any ideas, let me know!

I’m extremely excited to start these runs.  Short and intense!  I’m going to try to not worry about how fast I’m running, or how many miles I get in a week.  This effort will be all about trying to get in quick miles – possibly 3 times a week.

I’ll also be attempting a long run every 12 days, (on my day off) of about 8-10 miles, as that’s what my longest run will be when I start my training plan.  (I’ll be posting my CIM plan of attack soon).  I don’t want to lose endurance during this time, and I’d prefer to start off my marathon training with a few 8 – 10 mile runs in the bank.

So, tomorrow I will endeavor to run a longer run around Sydney – I won’t worry about pace, I’ll just try to keep going!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Treadmill Workouts to Get Faster

  1. cat h bradley says:

    I think short more intense treadmill workouts are great and actually have a pretty dramatic effect on your fitness, especially when you use intervals and mix up the incline. I actually think the fittest I have ever been was when I wasn’t running long, and I was just doing 3-4 of these of week with strength training. Great to mix it up, hope you like it!

    Like

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

