HBF run for a reason training – week 3

Week 3!  A great week of running.  I think I ran more this week than I did for my Hapalua Half Marathon training earlier this year!

Monday, May 1
(Day 15/42)

  • Run
    3 miles, easy pace (10:31min/mile)

  • Surf 

Tuesday, May 2
(Day 16/42)

  • Run:
    – 6 x 800m, with 1 mile warm up and cool down (9:44 min/mile)
    – Splits (in min/mile): 8:40, 8:25, 8:21, 8:16, 8:10, 8:09.
  • Strength Workout:
    – 3 x 10 dumbbell deadlifts (20lbs)
    – 3 x 10 dumbbell squats (20lbs)
    – 3 x 30 bicycle crunches

Wednesday, May 3
(Day 17/42)

  • Rest day!!

Thursday, May 4 
(Day 18/42)

  • Run:
    –  4 mile tempo, with 1 mile warm up and cool down (9:16min/mile)
     Tempo miles: 8:56, 8:36, 8:38, 8:42.             

Friday, May 5
(Day 19/42)

  • Surf
  • Run:
    – 4 miles, easy pace (10:07min/mile)                 

Saturday, May 6
(Day 20/42)

  • Run:
    – 6 miles, easy pace (10:02min/mile)                

Sunday, May 7
(Day 21/42)

  • Run:
    – 8 miles, long run. (9:57min/mile)                                            

Weekly mileage:  33.5 miles

Overview:  Another good week!  My long run was meant to happen on Saturday, but it was awful.  My stomach was upset from the start.  It was hot.  It just wasn’t working.  I tried again on Sunday, and success!  So much better.  I got faster with every mile, except for the last one, which I purposely tried to slow down for.  I completed a tempo and a speed work run too!  You can read about my speed work here.
I only managed one strength workout session, but I got in a few surfs, so I’m not too upset!

3 weeks to go!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

