Playing mind games – 6 x 800m

A good workout deserves its own post!

Yesterday morning my alarm clock went off at 5:30am.  I turned it straight off.  Nope, not going to run.  Maybe I can run later today.  Maybe I should just have a rest day today, and move my run to tomorrow.  But then I thought how good I would feel if I completed a run.  I thought about having time in the evening and not worrying when I would fit in my run.  I thought that I could actually wash my hair, and it could be clean for two whole days.

So, I got up, laced up my shoes, and went out.

While I was running my warm up mile I felt tired.  My body was waking up.  It was my 6 day of running in a row – something I have not done in a while.  I thought about not completing my workout – 6 x 800m. But then I decided to try.

My first 800m felt tough.  I was still waking up.  I was thinking of turning around and doing 2 x 800m, then I decided that it wouldn’t be too bad to just have the 800m repeats at anything faster than my easy pace.  I’ll slowly try to build up my speed again.  I did the second repeat.  I thought about turning around after this one, but then decided to keep trying – it was only one more repeat until I turn around.  I had to keep pushing.  The worst case scenario?  That I’d do an easy run back home.

But I kept going.  I kept pushing myself.  I tried to just run comfortably, and not push myself too crazy.  (Though, don’t get me wrong, it was still tough and I was pushing myself more than in a tempo run).

When I finished with the last repeat I was so happy.  I had done what I didn’t think I was able to do.  My mind was playing so many games, but I managed to shut it up and get the work done.

When I got back home I looked at my splits on Garmin Connect.  I am so happy with them!

Yes, my first one is slower than I would have liked, but I got faster with every one!  I started slow, but finished strong.  I didn’t stop at all.  I kept pushing.  Now I just need to harness this feeling so I get out there for every run.

One thought on “Playing mind games – 6 x 800m

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

