hbf run for a reason – training

Only six weeks until the HBF Run for a Reason 12km.  I was going to try to find a 10 or 12km training plan to follow, and I found a few 6 or 8 week plans.  But I don’t know, I’m just not that interested in following one.  I have no idea why.  I’m just going to do my own thing, and see how that goes.  I know what I want to do, have the usual speed work day, a tempo run day and a long run day – but I’m going to run by feel and have nothing really set in stone.

 

Speedwork

I did find a few good ideas for speedwork.  These two images below have some great workouts.  I feel like I fall into the beginner category for the most part, but I do like some of the advanced workouts.  But, who knows – I’ll put them here in case I need to look back on them for ideas.

There isn’t a workout for 200m repeats – and I really want to do that.  I may try that as my first speedwork.  I want to try to turn my legs over quicker.  So, I am thinking I’ll do that for one workout, then maybe follow along for the beginner workout.  The interesting part is that you are doing the repeats at goal 10k pace, so I don’t know if I would classify that as a ‘speed’ work out….. Who knows?!

6WeeksFaster10K_Beginners_MMF6WeeksFaster10K_Advanced2_MMF

Tempo Runs

I will be doing a few of these.  Hopefully one a week.  The 12km is a 7.5 mile run.  (I think, I still should probably check on that!).  I am going to follow the Hansons Marathon Method of tempo run, and do that at goal 10k pace.  How fast is that?  Sheesh.  No idea.  I might start at my PR half marathon pace, which is 8:51min/mile, and hopefully work it down to my PR 10km pace, which I believe is 8:41min/mile.

I’ll start with a mile warm up and cool down, and maybe 2 miles at goal pace.  If I increase 1 mile a week, I should hopefully max out at 6 miles at goal pace.  Again, I’m going to go by feel.  Though, if I can run 6 miles at 8:51min/mile I would be super happy – and I think I should be able to get back to that pace.

Long Run

Honestly, I think this is the main reason why I decided on the 12km run over the half marathon.  I don’t know if I can manage running long runs again.  If the weather was cooler I don’t think I would mind so much, but when it gets warm I just can’t be bothered.  I get so fed up with being hot.  Anyway.  Long runs.  7.5 miles is what I’ll be running on race day, so I want to aim for my long runs between 8 to 10 miles.  I think this first week I may just try to run 6 miles, and that is completely doable.  Running 6 miles doesn’t scare me.  So, in the 5 weeks leading up to the race, maybe I could do something like: 6, 8, 10, 8, 10 and 7.5 for the race.  If I can do this, that would be amazing.  But, as long as I run a few 8 milers (which I should do if my tempo gets up to 6 miles) I’ll be happy.

Hills Runs

I don’t know how I’ll add these in.  But I’d love to.  Even if I just do a few miles at an easy pace – I’m not talking about hill sprints/repeats/whatevers.  I just want to go up and down hills.  Maybe I’ll try to make my way to Diamond Head for my long run so I have that hill to run on, or maybe I’ll use the hill near where I live and just go easy on it.  Again, we will see.

 

Overall.. I’m going to be very flexible with my training.  I’d love to start at around 20-25 miles per week, and finish at 30-35 miles.  So, let’s see if I can do this!  Wish me luck!

 

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

