Hapalua Half Marathon Training Week 12

I’ll be writing a quick recap of The Hapalua in a little bit – at the moment I have come down with a cold, and am feeling sorry for myself.  I really just wanted to put this up.  I’ll probably need to update it too, to add in my splits for the Hapalua.  I’m pretty disappointed with how I ran.  Well, maybe I’m more disappointed with how I trained – I was definitely under trained, and really need to focus on completing long runs.

Monday, Apr 3rd
– 4 miles, easy progression run. (9:30min/mile)
– ab challenge work out (day 1/5)
– 20 pushups (day 3/31 challenge)

Tuesday, Apr 4th
– 6 x 400m, 400m recovery with 1 mile warm up and cool down
 Splits: 8:20, 8:16, 8:14, 8:05, 7:49, 7:47
– ab challenge work out (day2/5)
– 20 push ups (day 4/41 challenge)
img_0410

Wednesday, Apr 5th
– rest day
– ab challenge (day 3/5)
– 20 pushups (day 5/31)

Thursday, Apr 6th
– surf
– 20 pushups (day 6/31)

Friday, Apr 7th
– surf
– 2 mile run (8:51min/mile)
– 10 pushups (day 7/31)
– ab challenge (day 4/5)

Saturday, Apr 8th
– rest


Sunday, Apr 9th
– The Hapalua Half Marathon!
– 2:08:07 (Official time)



Overview:  I’m happy I completed the race.  Definitely could have been better – I’m happy I finished it.
I wanted to run more during the week, but didn’t because I knew I had the Half Marathon at the end, and didn’t want to bump up my mileage too much.  I’ll be excited to start training for a 12km race!

Total weekly mileage: 24.1

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

