Hapalua Half Marathon Training Week 7

A successful week!  I ended up running every day, and since the start of March I’ve run at least 3 miles every day.  I’m not sure if I’ll continue with the 3 mile streak, however I will try, but I’ll make sure I listen to my body.  If I need a rest day, I’m going to take it.

img_0035Monday, Feb 27th
 –  surf
–  1 mile run, easy pace (11:26min/mile)

Tuesday, Feb 28th
 – 4 x 800m, , with 400m recovery, 1 mile warm up, 1 mile cool down.
Splits: 8:09, 8:05, 8:06, 8:07.

Wednesday, Mar 1st
 – 1.5 mile warm up run, easy pace (10:55min/mile
 –  BBG abs & arms, week 8
–  1.5 mile cool down run, easy pace (10:32min/mile)

Thursday, Mar 2nd
– 40 minute tempo run – 4.34 miles (9:13min/mile)
Splits: 10:10, 9:06, 8:30, 8:54, 9:49

Friday, Mar 3rd
– 3 miles, easy pace (10:22min/mile)
  Ran up the hill that will be in the Hapalua Half Marathon – great practice!

Saturday, Mar 4th
– 3 miles, easy pace (10:10min/mile

Sunday, Mar 5th 
–  10.5 miles, long run (10:10min/mile)
Included a hill at mile 5-ish – very steep and difficult, but it was great to work the legs!
img_0082

Overview:  I started the week going back to the basics.  I want to try and run nice and slow on my easy days.  I figured 1 mile would work well, as I have the time to not rush and it isn’t long enough to think “If I run faster I’ll be done sooner.”

Very happy with this week.  I completed intervals, a tempo, and a long run!  Success!  I may not be as fast as I once was, but maybe I’ll slowly get back to there!

I only completed one BBG workout, but I just didn’t feel like doing any others.  It was raining all week, and I have limited space to do the workouts, so it makes it hard (yes, an excuse!)  I’ll continue on with week 9 next week and see how I go.

Total weekly mileage: 29.86 miles

 

How did your week go?

 

x Suzanne

3 thoughts on “Hapalua Half Marathon Training Week 7

  1. kstewruns says:

    Wow, that’s a serious training week! I think you are going to crush the half! Sometimes giving your body a rest make make you go faster 🙂 I’ll be rooting for you! Keep the motivation up! BQ is in the works!

    Like

    • brightsuzanne says:

      It’s not even close to what I was running two years ago! As long as I can finish the half marathon without dying I’ll be happy! And seriously thinking about a BQ attempt for the CIM this year….. But it’s a lofty goal and I haven’t even registered for the race!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

