3 marathons in 2 months

I don’t know if I posted what I am doing.  I’m sure I have, but I don’t think I made a link to it.  I’m running three marathons in two months.  It just ended up that way.  I signed up for 2, two months apart.  Then the Honolulu Marathon comes along and gives a great deal to people that live on the island, so it was $35 for that one.  I can’t say no to that, right?!

I decided to put my efforts into something a bit more meaningful.  That way, I can’t just back out.  I have to complete them.  I decided to raise money for Juvenile Diabetes.  

Juvenile Diabetes (or Type 1 Diabetes) isn’t caused by diet.  There is nothing you can do to prevent the onset of it.  They aren’t sure what causes it, scientists do believe that there could be both genetic factors and environmental triggers.  Who can get it?  Anyone.  Children or adults, at any stage of their life.  What does this mean?  It means you are dependent on injected or pumped insulin for the rest of your life.

Now, why do I care?  My brother was diagnosed as a child with T1D.  We were both kids, and now our life gets flipped and he has this struggle to deal with.  He passed away at age 32.  Without going into too much detail, he struggled with this disease for well over two thirds of his life.  He couldn’t have a normal childhood eating all the sweets he wanted, without serious consequences.  If he lived longer he would have to deal with more and more issues.  My grandfather also had T1D diabetes, and he had blood clots in his leg, which lead to his leg being amputated.

What you can do to help?  If you would like to donate, here is a link to my profile.  Let’s try to find a cure.

jdrf-team-logo

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

