Glute strength – The Power House

I have just read an interesting article on glute strength.  I completely forgot to get the link, so I cannot reference it (but I will try and find it later).  It talked about the signs of bad glute stabilization.  What the heck does that mean?  Basically, your bum isn’t strong enough to help you run properly.  One sign that you don’t have a strong enough bum?  Your knees collapse when you run.  As soon as I read that, I thought – that’s me!  I’ve seen countless photos of me, and I just thought I had weird knees.  But I guess not (well, I might still have weird knees, but I am sure I have a weak butt too!) The good news with this?  I should be able to fix it!

Let’s have a look at a photo from a training run I recently took.  My knees just want to kiss each other! G0010777

I said we can fix it?  Well, what can we do?  Lots more strength exercises!  I am going to implement the following into my routine.  I am even thinking to go as far as doing these first thing in the morning – as soon as I roll out of bed.  I need to get a stronger butt so I can run stronger. Now, I don’t know if this is the actual cause, or maybe my knees are just built this way, however these exercises won’t do any harm but will do me some good.

Bridge

  1. Lie flat on the ground, with your hands by your sides and your knees bent.
  2. Rise off the ground so your body forms a straight line from your shoulders to your knees.
  3. Hold for a few seconds, then slowly lower yourself back down.
  4. Repeat

 

Single-leg squat

  1. Balance on one leg, keeping your arms straight out in front of you.
  2. Squat down as far as possible, keeping your back straight and your knee pointed in the same direction as your toes.
  3. Raise your body back up to the starting position.
  4. Repeat with your other leg.

 

Clamshell

  1. Lie on your side, legs stacked on top of each other and bent at a 45 degree angle.
  2. Keeping your feet together, raise your top knee as high as you can without moving your hips or pelvis.
  3. Hold for a few seconds, then slowly lower your leg back down.
  4. Repeat, and then switch sides.

 

Donkey Kicks

  1. Start on all fours, place your hands directly under your shoulders and knees under your hips.
  2. Push your heel of one foot toward the ceiling, until your thigh is parallel to the floor, keeping your leg bent at 90 degrees.
  3. Hold for a few seconds, then lower your knee back to the floor.
  4. Repeat, and then again with your other leg.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Glute strength – The Power House

  1. Daniel @Fit2Fat81 says:

    Nice post, coincidentally enough I posted a similar strength training post just now talking about three common myths of strength training. I decided to start incorporating a strength training regimen into my cardio routine and picked up “Quick Strength for Runners” and they talk about exactly what your photo shows, collapsed hips from lack of glute strength. I hope to post more about my experiences adding strength training to my workout routine in the future.

    Liked by 2 people

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

