round one of intervals

I always get so nervous going into any sort of speed work.  I really want to hit paces, and will be upset if I can’t complete what I set out to do.  I think I need to get over this.  I am trying.  I have numerous lines that I tell myself:

‘It doesn’t matter what your pace is, as long as it is faster than your easy runs’

and of course the old,

‘As long as you try your best, that’s all that matters’

However, no matter what I say, I get nervous.  That means I end up not wanting to run.  Or that I just want to do an easy run instead.  However, I know these easy runs are not going to help me break four hours.  So that’s what I say to myself.

‘How much do you really want it?’

Then I get out of the door.

So, yesterday’s workout.  I decided to make it a little easier for myself.  This is a long road, and there is no need to rush.

 

The workout:

8 x 400m, with 2 mins rest.

I decided since I am only doing 8 repeats I would warm up for half a mile longer than normal, with a 1.5 mile easy run (but my pace is faster than what I would have liked).

The 400m were to be done at 5k pace (just under an 8min/mile).  I started a little fast, and then got faster.  I’m not sure if I am ok with this.  I think I am.  I only did 8 repeats, and had a good recovery between them.  I think I will do the same workout in a few weeks and up the repeats to 10, and try to keep the recovery and speed the same.

For my rest, I thought of staying in the same spot, and recovering.  Then I thought it would be best to keep moving, so I decided on 1min 30sec of walking, and then 30 seconds of jogging.  Then I finished with a mile cool down.

My splits:
Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 7.10.48 AM

I have decided to be very happy with these splits.  Let’s just hope I can continue adding in different workouts to my week, and not just fall back on easy running!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

