a small trip to Washington

I managed to go out to Washington State for a few days to visit my sister in law.  It was amazing.  The temperatures were beautiful, nice cool mornings and warmish afternoons.  I loved it!

My sister-in-law lives in a beautiful neighbourhood, that is on a lake and has an amazing trail.  I managed to get all my runs done while I was out there, including a 10 miler, which felt really good.  I did have a little problem finding a track to complete my intervals, so I went up to a road that was kind of flat, however it wasn’t half a mile in length so I had to do a few turns to get in the distance.

I did 6 x 800m on Tuesday, and it was tough.  I ran a mile to warm up, which included a steep uphill portion which probably didn’t help my legs at all.  I wanted to give up, but I kept going.  My splits were not perfect, but I am happy that I kept going and pushed through the pain.  I am glad it is over, and my next interval session will be done at a little slower pace.
Screen Shot 2015-10-02 at 10.20.04 AM

Luckily my day off was also my travel day, so it made it nice and easy not worrying about fitting in a run.  And then on Thursday I had another 5 mile tempo run.  I decided to head into Waikiki and run around Diamond Head, as I want to do this a few times to prep me for race day.  I warmed up for a mile, and then started on my pace.  I went out a little too fast, so spent a lot of the first mile trying to slow it down. My second mile was the slowest, but that was also due to the fact I climbed a hill.  I am not going to complain about my paces being too fast, if nothing else it may give me a little buffer for my marathon!
Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 9.00.36 AM

Also managed an easy run yesterday and today.  I have been going a little too fast in these, and my legs are definitely feeling tired but I am having a hard time slowing it down.  We will see how tomorrow’s long run goes, and maybe that will force me to slow down my easy runs more.

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

