hiking and speed work

My husband and I decided to go for a hike yesterday. We have done it before, and you end up at the top of a mountain at a campground.  The views are incredible.  But it is tough.  It is about 3.5 miles up, and about 1800 feet in elevation.  On the way up you can see incredible views of the coastline.  When you reach the campground there are more trails, and we explored another one for about half a mile, to get to a nice even four miles.  We decided we need to head back and camp up there to explore the other trails. 

 I love looking at stats, so I wore my Garmin so I could track the miles and elevation.

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 2.42.43 PM

I was so sore after this hike!  My husband and I decided to run the last mile, as it is pretty flat, which felt good – you use different muscles, so you actually feel pretty fresh.  However, in the back of my head I was thinking of how am I possibly going to do my speed work in the morning.

I woke up at about 5:30am, and thought ‘There is no need to get up so early, have a little rest.’ Then I thought, ‘you can always give your legs more time to recover and do your run later this afternoon’.  In the end, I decided to get my butt into gear and head out, which was at about 7:00am.  I figured that even if I don’t hit my paces, at least I am running a little faster than usual.  On the agenda was 8 x 600m splits, with 400m recovery.  My watch was calculating in miles, and I worked out that 600 meters is approximately 0.37 miles, my watch can tell me intervals of either 0.35 or 0.4, I chose to go with 0.35 intervals.

It was a tough run, but I am glad I did it.  My pace was set to be at 2:59 per 600m, as I did a little less than 600m my splits needed to be a little faster.  As I cannot figure out just how fast while I am running, nor do I see how much time has gone past, I just tried to keep my average around an 8:00 minute/mile.  My splits were good, and I am super happy looking back on this run, but in the effort of full disclosure: I did stop after my 4th repeat to have some of an energy gel, and twice again, before the 6th and 7th repeat – the heat was really getting to me at that point!  To get me through I kept asking myself, how much do I really want to break 4 hours at my marathon?

My splits:
Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 2.38.48 PM

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

