the day after speedwork

I did my first speed session of my training plan yesterday.  I was so nervous going into it.  I didn’t want to get out of bed, as it was raining, but I knew if I didn’t go first thing in the morning it wouldn’t happen.  I woke up at 5:30am, had a cup of coffee and a banana then headed outside.  The previous night I had gotten everything ready for my run: my water bottle, my Cliff energy gel (just incase) and my Garmin.  I decided to set my Garmin to be ready to run intervals, and set it for 12 x 400m repeats.

It was a beautiful morning, rainy, but not heavy.  I was going to run a mile warm up, complete 12 x 400m at a pace of around an 8:00min/mile (which ends up being 2 minutes per 400m) then complete a one mile cool down.  After a few minutes my watch started beeping at me, and I realised that it was already working on the intervals!  I stopped my watch, and restarted just to complete a mile warm up.  So, my training has split my warm up into: 0.25, 0.75, but it doesn’t matter!

The repeats went by really well.  400m (or quarter of a mile) is a pretty good distance to cover, it short enough where you can go at a faster pace but not long enough where that pace really hurts.  My pace was to be at my 5k pace, which is just under an 8 minute mile.  I was a little worried, as I have not completed a 5k since the beginning of the year that it might be too quick for me, but it seemed to be ok!  My recovery period was also 400m in length, and I was unsure of exactly how fast to run these.  The Hansons Marathon Method book does say that my recovery pace is around 11:30min/mile, however it doesn’t say when to specifically use them (recovery for intervals? recovery runs?) I decided to try to go no slower than 11:30min/mile, however just run nice and easy.  I am (happily) surprised that it is around an average of10:30min/mile.  I decided after my 6th repeat that I would take my gel.  I didn’t think I really needed it, but I thought it would be good to start having them now and seeing how my body reacts to them while running faster.  I think it really helped me, and just gave me that extra energy to keep pushing.

My splits were:
Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 10.04.21 AM

Warm up (in two parts!)
Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 10.10.15 AM Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 10.10.43 AM

Cool down:
Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 10.11.05 AM

A little faster than needed, but all in all a good run.  We will see if I can hold this pace as the distance gets longer!

I am happy to say, that it is the next day, and it is a rest day.  My legs are feeling good, and I may attempt some yoga and definitely a foam roll session to keep them feeling fresh for my tempo run tomorrow!

One thought on “the day after speedwork

  1. Jayson says:

    Those are very consistent splits, very nice! Looks like you got stronger towards the end, too. Great job, and great job overall including your recovery splits. 12x400s are hard for me to keep track, glad you had your Garmin to help you out 🙂

    Like

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

