half marathon training coming to an end

It has been way too long since I posted.  I am sorry!

I have been having a real problem with my motivation to run.  However, the more I think about it, I really just have a lack of motivation to get out of bed in the morning.  I am going to try to work on that!

I guess my lack of motivation has also come over onto my blog.  I haven’t been updating with my runs.  Now that my training is coming to an end I have been able to look over my training log and see how well I have done.  And it’s been ok.  Not terrible, but not great.  I have missed one speed workout and one tempo workout.  I really would have liked to have completed the tempo, but my body was tired and I think it was good for me to rest a little.

I’ve been slowing my easy paces down, so I try to aim for the 9:51minute/mile pace that I should be doing.  Sometimes they feel tough, and sometimes they feel good.  Generally after a day off they feel tougher than after a hard workout.

My last long run for the training period:

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 2.19.16 PM

And my favorite run of the training period:

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 2.20.44 PM

This one was 4 x 1.5 miles, done a week ago.  Now, let’s not confuse favorite with easiest!  It was tough.  I tried to keep my pace at around 8:30 min/miles – and the last one got to me.  The wind was tough to deal with, especially having a strong headwind for the full last 1.5 miles.  I came into this run thinking I couldn’t complete it.  I realised I would be running 10 miles.  That is the same as my long run.  But I did it.  It was such a huge confidence builder.

This week I will be doing easy runs.  The past five weeks I have run quite a bit.  I don’t think adding on any tough workouts will help my with my half marathon.  We can just hope for the best!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

