a horrible run and a PR in one race

On Sunday I ran a 10k race.  I’ve never really run one before.  I mean, I’ve run two – both before half marathons, and now that I think of it, a third during the Dopey Challenge at Walt Disney World, but that’s just it – they were completed nice and easy because I was focused on running longer distances after them.

I decided to try and run my tempo run as a 10k race.  I wanted to keep at an 8:30 pace, and see how I felt.  It was horrible.  I don’t know if I drank too much water, but by mile 5.5 I had to stop.  I managed to finish off the run, and I got a PR, but it was not good, and my paces were horrible.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.02.07 PM

You can see where I stopped.  But even going into that my paces slowed drastically.  My excuses: I ran 12 miles two days before.  And that’s about it.  It was just tough, and mentally I wasn’t ready for it.  I still got a PR, but I am not happy with this run.  I really don’t know if I even want to attempt another 10k.  Maybe after a little bit more training.

After this disaster, I had to do my strength workout.  I decided to change my paces, as I have no idea where I got my paces for my half marathon.  I was to run 4 x 1.5 miles at an 8:20pace (Changed from 8:03pace)  I was scared going into it.  I almost didn’t run it, and was going to put it off for the next day.  I also realised that once I added on my warm up and cool down it would equal 10 miles total.  10 MILES!!!!!!!!!  That’s the length of my long runs!  That is crazy!  I thought of just doing half of the workout, or maybe 3 of the repeats.  I decided just to get my shoes on and see how I felt.

What did I realize when I was doing my warm up?  That if I want it I will have to earn it.  I am not going to get faster, or get PR’s, or eventually qualify for Boston if I don’t put in the effort.  That means being uncomfortable.  So I went out there, and I did it.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.08.13 PM

My last repeat was the slowest – I have another excuse for that!  The wind was blowing strong the entire way, which helped for the first repeat, and the middle two I managed to do half running into the wind and half running with the wind at my back.  But that final mile was all into the wind with my legs tired.  So, not my fastest, but still ok!  I am happy with this run – my first workout that was into double digits (not including long runs).

I have also realised this is what I need to be prepared for when I start my marathon training.  These types of runs are going to get me where I need want to be.  I want to be faster.  I want to do well in my next marathon.  This is what I will have to do, and consistantly.

In saying all of this my goal for the Honolulu Marathon will be to break 4 hours, which means my runs will be at a slower pace (thank goodness for that!) I could attempt to go a little faster, but for my first serious marathon (as in, not just to finish) I think I will err on the side of caution – breaking 4 hours is still a huge task for me!

And my goals for my next half marathon (11 days away) will be to have fun and embrace the run.  There will be hills, and I have done no hill work, or any running on hills, so I think that will slow me down.  I am contemplating running it ‘naked’ with no GPS. But I really doubt I can do that, I love tracking my runs and analysing my runs, so I may try and place tape over the watch so I don’t look at my pace and run by feel.  Who knows what I will decide.  I’m excited either way – the medal is so pretty!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

