10 x 400m

This morning I was meant to wake up early.  But I didn’t.  I slept in.  My bed is just way too comfy.

I had a cup of coffee with the husband before he left for work, then I headed out for my run, at almost 8am.  On the cards was 10 x 400m, with a recovery of 400m.  I warmed up for 1 mile, then did some straight leg kicks and butt kicks.  Nothing to exciting, and probably I should be doing more.

I went into the repeats.  The first felt super easy, but the second was tough.  And it was hard from there.  I wanted to stop, but I kept pushing through.  I realised I had set my watch for 12 repeats, and I wrote my plan for 10.  I stuck with 10!  No way was I doing more when it was this warm outside.

My splits:

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 9.37.30 AM

My pace for each 400m was to be at 7:43min/mile.  3 of them were perfect, the rest too fast.  I’m ok with this.  They are not excessively too fast.  And my last repeat was the second fastest (only one second slower than the fastest).  Overall, I am pretty happy – I was trying hard to try and keep my pace, but also towards the end work on running it by feel.  I think maybe my recovery periods were a little too fast, so I will work at keeping them slower.

I will be working at this workout before I start my marathon training plan (but after my half marathon is completed).  I will need to do 12 repeats, not 10.  However, my pace may be a little slower.  We will see, if I can get a little fast over the next few months I might try to keep my speed workouts at the 7:43min/mile.

To end on a crazy thought: I struggle at keeping this pace for 400 meters.  People (and not elites) were knocking out this pace for 26.2 miles yesterday!!  It seems a long way off that I may possibly be able to hold a 8:00min/mile for 26.2 miles, but small baby steps and maybe I will get there!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

