Hansons Marathon Method Trial

Today was my first run of a small trial of the Hansons Marathon Method I put together for the next five weeks leading up to my half marathon.

I have taken a couple of speed workouts, a few strength workouts and them kept Thursday as a tempo day.  I really have no idea what I am doing, but it is similar to the training plans I was doing, so I figure I can’t go too wrong.

You can find my training plan detail here.  I’m interested to see how my paces will hold for the strength and tempo runs.  It will also give me a great insight into how I am running.  I want a 1:50:00 Half (I don’t think it is possible, but I may as well aim close to this) and for the full marathon I am going to shoot to break 4:00:00.

So, on to todays run,  it was done at my easy pace.  The first mile was a little tough, I haven’t run since Thursday so getting back into it took a little while.  The second mile was too fast, but not by much, so I really tried to slow it down for my final mile.  Overall it was good.  I finished feeling refreshed, not tired.  I know it will get harder as I continue with my training, especially for the full marathon, but I am enjoying running slower.

My splits:

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 10.39.58 AM

Tomorrow calls for my first speed workout, 10 x 400m.  We will see how that works out!!

What do you think?? - Leave a Reply!

